:: Meeting Agendas / Minutes

Emergency Preparedness Commission

The Commission consists 15 members who are appointed by the City Council. The Commission was established in 1998 to effectively deal with the possibility of man-made and natural emergencies such as major earthquakes, floods, extended power outages, terrorism, hazardous material and other problems. The Commission’s main purpose is to prepare and train citizens and business for any possible emergency. It has progressed from an advisory body to an operational task force. Representatives of Home Owner Associations, gated communities and neighborhoods are especially encouraged to attend. (Res. Nos. 98-18, 98-22, 2003-33, 2006-49, 2010-20, & 2013-11)


  • Marcia Meyers Stein, Chair
  • H. Roger Barry, Vice-Chair
  • Lynn Coker
  • Dr. Paul R. Copeskey, D.C.
  • Claudia E. Fausett
  • Alvin Greenwalt
  • Megan Lee
  • Virginia Luhring
  • James McFarlin
  • Cyann Proodian
  • Dave Richardson
  • Mary Lou Suter
  • Brenda Weinstock
  • Dennis Mileti, PhD (Technical Advisor)
  • Dr. David Tang, MD (Medical Advisor)

Staff Liaison

Britt Wilson, Management Analyst

Meeting Schedule

The Community Emergency Preparedness Commission is regularly scheduled to meet monthly beginning at 2:30 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of the month, unless the meeting has been adjourned. Those interested in attending the meeting are encouraged to call City Hall at (760)-324-4511 to confirm the date/time.